Prudential Ride London – a sigh of relief

I’m almost ashamed to admit that when my Ride London ‘commiserations’ mag dropped through the letter box yesterday, I gave a huge whoop of relief.

ride-london-comm

And that’s only for one reason – I’ve been mad enough to sign up to the London Marathon this year. I’m only in my first week of proper training, and it’s going.. interestingly.
I’ve been lucky enough to take part in Ride London three times in a row. The first year I cycled for Diabetes UK, got caught in a hurricane and wasn’t sure whether sweat, rain or tears were running down my face at certain points.

The second year, the conditions were much better. In fact, rather too much better – I cycled the ride with The Boyfriend’s Dad, and a developed a nasty bout of sunstroke after the race, due to being a muppet and not putting on any sun cream.

Finally, we come to last year. The year I fondly look back on as The Year of Minimal Training. I’m not sure how I managed to get myself round the course (in, rather annoyingly, a faster time than the year before!).

Every year I’ve had an army of supporters – in fact, this blog is named after a t-shirt The Boyfriend wore to cheer me on.

So it’s with a bit of a twinge of sadness that I now turn my efforts to running. But with good reason, what with me nearly being thirty (GASP), and suffering with migraines for ten years – but that’s for another blog post.

This year, I’ll be firmly on the side of the road cheering my little heart out… In my other life, away from cycling, fitness and blogging, I work for a homeless charity. Single Homeless Project works to prevent homelessness and help vulnerable and socially excluded people to transform their lives.  We do this by providing support and accommodation, promoting wellbeing, enhancing opportunity, and being a voice for change. From supporting people in crisis to helping people take the final steps towards independence and employment, we make a difference to 7,000 lives every year.that works with 7,000 of London’s most vulnerable people a year.

And we’ve got Ride London places left! (that’s right, it’s shameless plug time). So if you fancy riding for an wonderful charity and raising a few pennies for a good cause, then just get in touch.

Leave a Reply

